MTConnect® Institute Board Members Elected to National Academy Of Engineering

Updated: Apr 2, 2020

AMT is proud to report that MTConnect Institute board of trustee members Drs. Stephan Biller and Tom Kurfess were elected in February to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) in recognition of professional excellence in engineering. Members of NAE are elected by their peers for outstanding contributions to research, practice, education, new fields of technology, advancing traditional fields of engineering, developing and implementing innovative approaches to engineering, and exhibiting outstanding leadership. Election to membership is one of the highest honors that can be accorded an engineer as there are only 2,309 U.S. members in NAE.

“The harmonization of standards is a critical step in the advancement of IoT in the manufacturing industry, and each has played an instrumental role in the development and advancement of the MTConnect standard in the industry,” said Tim Shinbara, AMT vice president and chief technology officer and MTConnect Institute board officer. 

Data scientist Dr. Biller serves as vice president, Watson IoT, IBM Corp. He was elected to NAE for leadership and advancement of manufacturing technologies and innovations based on the internet of things and digital data.

Mechanical engineer Dr. Kurfess serves as chief manufacturing officer, Oak Ridge National Laboratory. He was elected to NAE for development and implementation of innovative digital manufacturing technologies and system architectures.

“Dr. Biller has contributed significantly to our strategic vision of open, standards-based solutions, and he has been instrumental in the development and advancement of a model-based MTConnect standard. Dr. Kurfess has contributed to the interoperability of the standard as well as leveraging digital technologies to advance manufacturing,” continued Shinbara.

The NAE is a private, independent, nonprofit institution that provides engineering leadership in service to the nation and pursues a mission to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology.

Left to right: Dr. Stephan Biller and Dr. Tom Kurfess

Recent Posts

See All